Skip navigation

Board of Advisors

Rochelle Becker

Rochelle Becker has been active on nuclear safety issues in California for 35 years. She co-founded the Alliance for Nuclear Responsibility in 2005 to focus on her experience working with elected representatives and oversight agencies – both state and federal.  [Read more]


S. David Freeman

S. David Freeman is an American engineer, attorney, and author, born in Chattanooga, Tennessee, who has had many key roles in energy policy. He most recently served as Interim General Manager of the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP), the largest municipal utility in the country, managing over 8,500 employees and an annual budget of more than four billion dollars. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Freeman served the City of Los Angeles as Deputy Mayor of Energy and Environment,  [Read more


Carol Leslie Hamilton, Esq.

Carol Leslie Hamilton is the U.S. National Commissioner for UNESCO. Recently, she served as Dean of Institutional Development at Santa Monica College, where she worked with college personnel to devise plans of action for establishing and enhancing college programs and policy formulation in accordance with applicable laws and regulations. To serve the Santa Monica College student population and initiatives related to their success, she developed resources by building and fostering relations with foundations, governmental entities and potential funding sources. [Read more


Dr. Harry Lehmann

Dr. Lehmann serves as General Director at the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA), which since its founding in 1974, has been Germany’s main environmental protection agency. Dr. Lehmann’s Division’s sphere of responsibility encompasses sustainable development strategies, climate protection, energy, traffic and noise pollution. [Read more]


Dr. Alexa Lutzenberger

Dr. Lutzenberger teaches at the University of Leuphana at Lueneberg, one of Germany's leading institutions on the study of sustainability, where she is a Member of the Institute of Environmental and Sustainable Chemistry. She also serves as committee member of BKK, the German biogenous and regenerative fuels association.  [Read more]


Jan McFarland 

Ms. McFarland has over 30 years of leadership experience in energy and environmental management, in the government, public interest and private sectors.  Currently as a private consultant, she provides guidance on energy and environmental regulatory issues with an emphasis on distributed generation and climate change.  As Executive Director of the California Advanced Transportation Financing Authority (CAEATFA), she oversaw and managed efforts to reduce the financing costs of renewable energy and advanced transportation technologies in California.  [Read more]


Richard L. Ottinger

Richard Ottinger is Dean Emeritus of Pace Law School, has always been an ardent environmentalist and energy advocate. In his 16 years as a member of the United States House of Representatives, he authored a substantial body of energy and environmental laws. As Chair of the House Energy Conservation and Power Subcommittee of the Energy and Commerce Committee, he was a pioneer in educating Members of Congress and the public in the advantages of energy efficiency and renewable energy, a founder of the Environmental & Energy Study Group, the largest non-partisan bicameral Congressional organization, that continues as the independent Environmental and Energy Study Institute in Washington, D.C,  [Read more]


Dr. David Renné

Dr. David Renné is currently in his third term as the President of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES). He retired from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in the U.S., 2012, where, since 1991, he developed and managed programs on renewable energy resource assessment and analysis, and the integration of resource data into GIS. He now holds an Emeritus position at NREL. [Read more]


Professor Eicke R. Weber 

Professor Eicke R. Weber is the Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE and professor of physics/solar energy at the Department of Mathematics and Physics and the Department of Engineering respectively at the University of Freiburg, Germany. [Read more]